The Wachau has a unique geological, climatic and scenic diversity that is reflected in the vast species of flora and fauna.

The diverse habitats harbour 30 different species of orchids, including the slipper orchid and the Adriatic lizard orchid. Sightings of peregrine falcons, cirl buntings, black storks, owls, kingfishers, white-backed woodpeckers and hoopoes are common, while the bee-eater and the white-tailed eagle are frequent guests. The Danube salmon and the nase are among the more than 50 species of fish that thrive in the Danube’s tributaries as well as the river’s calm, protected shallow zones and main bed, which are habitats also for beavers and otters.

Green lizard – Lacerta viridis

The green lizard derives its name from its strikingly intense colour, reminiscent of an emerald. Male members of the species exhibit an especially handsome colouring during the mating season. Found mainly in countries of the Balkan peninsula, this large lizard variety is endangered despite a widespread population. At home at altitudes ranging from 125 to 600 metres, the green lizard, like the Aesculapian snake, favours warm, dry slopes of the kind frequently found in the Wachau.

Peregrine falcon – Falco peregrinus

The peregrine falcon is known to many as the emblem of Federspiel wines. But what many probably do not know is how rare the species is in Austria. The Wachau is one of the regions lucky to still have a few peregrine falcons. These birds prefer to build their nests in the steep cliffs flanking both shores of the Danube. Hunting in flight, the peregrine falcon can dive at speeds of well over 300 kph (180 mph) when pouncing on its prey, other bird species.

Feather grass – Stipa pennata

Feather grass, also known as orphan maidenhair or Steinfeder, is a species within the grass family. It is found in the Wachau especially in dry grasslands immediately surrounding vineyards. According to custom, the grass is used as a traditional decoration for hats.

Aesculapian snake – Zamenis longissismus

One of Europe’s longest snake varieties, it can reach lengths of up to 2 metres. The non-poisonous Aesculapian snake has a shimmering, smooth hide ranging in colour from yellowish brown and olive green to greyish brown. A veritable world-class climber, the species is actually quite useful, preferring a diet mostly of small mammals and especially mice. Preserving areas with deadwood and natural compost, brushwood and leaf piles could support this mouse hunter as it increasingly faces endangerment.

Praying mantis – Mantis religiosa

Though still sighted frequently in the Wachau, the praying mantis is an endangered species in Lower Austria. As its larvae require in spring a relatively high supply of prey, the species’ habitat in Central Europe is limited to very warm biotopes. It finds suitable habitats in dry and semi-arid grasslands such as those typical of the Wachau. The praying mantis is directly threatened, however, through farmers’ use of insecticides, which poison the species’ food supply. Fortunately, insecticide use has become virtually unknown in the Wachau, and countless praying mantises can often be observed even on small patches of dry grass. Larger than their male counterparts, females can grow to a length of 75 millimetres. Though myth would have it that the female devours her mate after pairing, this is not necessarily the case: this behaviour is witnessed more often in terrariums, which offer no escape route, but hardly ever in nature.

Predatory bush cricket – Saga pedo

Also known as the spiked magician, this predatory species can reach a length of 9 centimetres and is one of Europe’s largest and most rare insects. It is the only variety of cricket protected under law in Lower Austria. Usually inhabiting shrubs and grasses growing in calcareous soils, the cricket is equally at home in dry grasslands. Recent sightings have been reported in the Setzberg and Höhereck vicinities. Interestingly enough, its eggs remain in the ground over two winters and often even longer. Later, in early May, the nymphs hatch, in appearance already very similar to adult members of the species.

Eurasian hoopoe – Upupa epops

This bird species is strikingly distinctive, both in appearance and in terms of its call. An insectivore drawn to warm habitats, the hoopoe has grown somewhat in number in recent years and it will be interesting to see how the population develops in the next 10 to 20 years. The hoopoe is probably best recognised by its call – three soft ‘oops’ in rapid succession – and its distinctive appearance.

Rock bunting – Emberiza cia

The original habitat of the rock bunting consists of steep, rocky hillsides with sparse vegetation. In the Wachau it prefers to make its home in the stone walls of the many vineyards, where possibly a third of Austria’s total rock bunting population thrives. A permanent resident, the species can be seen year round but, with its soft call, is more often heard. It is comparable in size to a house sparrow and loves to perch and sing, from the posts and wires supporting vines or from shrubs.

Cirl bunting – Emberiza cirlus

Only in recent years has the cirl bunting been observed to breed in the Wachau, where it is now more prevalent than anywhere else in Austria. Temperate, open landscapes with sufficient low vegetation are its preferred habitat. Next to the rock bunting, it has become a local feature, with currently around 30 to 50 pairs. But the population continues to grow, followed keenly by observers.

Die besondere geologische, klimatische und landschaftliche Vielfalt der Wachau spiegelt sich in seiner artenreichen Flora und Fauna wider.

Die unterschiedlichen Lebensräume sind Refugien für 30 Orchideenarten, wie z. B. Frauenschuh und Adriatische Riemenzunge. Seltene Vogelarten wie Wanderfalke, Zaunammer, Schwarzstorch, Uhu, Eisvogel, Weißrückenspecht und Wiedehopf sind zu beobachten, Bienenfresser und Seeadler sind regelmäßige Gäste. In den Nebengewässern und wellenschlaggeschützten Seichtwasserzonen der Donau und in der Donau selbst leben über 50 Fischarten - wie Huchen und Nasen - aber auch Biber und Fischotter sind zu finden.

Smaragdeidechse - Lacerta viridis

Ihren Namen erhielt die Smaragdeidechse von ihrer auffallend intensiven Färbung, die an das Grün des Smaragds erinnert. Besonders schön ist die Färbung der Männchen während der Paarungszeit. Diese große Eidechsenart ist vor allem in den Balkanländern beheimatet und ist trotz ihres großen Verbreitungsgebiets stark gefährdet. Sie kommt in Höhen zwischen 125 und 600 m vor und hält sich - ebenso wie die Äskulapnatter - gern an trockenwarmen Hängen auf, die es gerade in der Wachau häufig gibt.

Fotocredit: Gamerith

Wanderfalke - Falco peregrinus

Der Wanderfalke ist als Symbol für die Federspiel-Weine wahrscheinlich den meisten bekannt. Viel weniger bekannt ist vermutlich, dass es eine der seltensten Falkenarten Österreichs ist. Glücklicherweise kommen in der Wachau noch einige wenige Wanderfalken vor. Bevorzugt nisten diese auf den steilen Felswänden zu beiden Seiten der Donau. Als Flugjäger, der sich von Vögeln ernährt, erreicht der Wanderfalke im Sturzflug bis weit über 300 km/h.

Fotocredit: Buchner

Steinfeder - Stipa pennata

Die Steinfeder, auch Federgras oder Frauenhaar genannt, ist eine Pflanzenart innerhalb der Familie der Süßgräser. In der Wachau kommt es besonders auf den Trockenrasen vor, welche in unmittelbarer Umgebung zu den Weingärten zu finden sind. Traditionell wird es als Hutschmuck für Brauchtumszwecke verwendet.

Fotocredit: Gamerith

Äskulapnatter - Zamenis longissismus

Sie ist eine der größten Schlangenarten Europas, die bis zu 2 m Länge erreicht. Die ungiftige Äskulap weist eine glänzend-glatte Oberfläche auf und ist gelb-braun, olivgrün bis grau-braun gefärbt. Sie ist eine wahre Klettermeisterin und verspeist vorwiegend Kleinsäuger, speziell Mäuse, ist also sehr nützlich. Die Erhaltung von Totholzbeständen sowie natürlichen Kompost-, Reisig- und Laubhaufen könnten einer zunehmenden Gefährdung der Mäusejägerin entgegenwirken.

Gottesanbeterin - Mantis religiosa

Die in der Wachau noch recht häufig anzutreffende Gottesanbeterin ist niederösterreichweit gefährdet. Sie beschränkt sich in Mitteleuropa auf ausgesprochene Wärmeinseln, da die Larven von einem relativ hohen Beuteangebot im Frühling abhängig sind. Trocken- und Halbtrockenrasengebiete, wie sie in der Wachau vorkommen, sind geeignete Habitate. Allerdings wird die Gottesanbeterin durch Vergiftung ihrer Nahrung durch den Einsatz von Insektiziden in der Landwirtschaft direkt geschädigt. Erfreulicherweise werden in der Wachau kaum mehr Insektizide eingesetzt, daher kann man sogar auf kleinen Trockenrasenflächen oft unzählige Exemplare finden. Weibchen sind größer als Männchen und können eine Länge von bis zu 75 mm erreichen. Der Mythos, wonach das Männchen nach der Paarung vom Weibchen aufgefressen wird, stimmt übrigens nur bedingt: So ist dieser Vorgang in der freien Natur nur selten zu beobachten, wohingegen es im Terrarium ohne Fluchtmöglichkeit öfter dazu kommt.

Große Sägeschrecke - Saga pedo

Die auch unter dem Namen Zauberschrecke bekannte, räuberische Art zählt mit bis zu 9 cm Länge sowohl zu den größten als auch zu den seltensten Insekten Europas. Als einzige Schrecke ist sie in Niederösterreich unter gesetzlichen Schutz gestellt. Busch- und Grasland auf kalkhältigen Böden stellen ihren Lebensraum dar, doch genauso wohl fühlt sie sich auf Trockenrasen in der Wachau. Aktuelle Beobachtungen stammen vom Setzberg und Höhereck. Besonders interessant ist, dass ihre Eier über zwei Winter hinweg, oft sogar noch länger, im Boden bleiben. Dann, Anfang Mai, schlüpfen die Larven, die bereits den ausgewachsenen Exemplaren sehr ähnlich sehen.

Wiedehopf - Upupa epops

Ein besonders auffälliger Vogel, sowohl was Gesang als auch Aussehen betrifft, ist der Wiedehopf. Als wärmeliebender Insektenfresser hat er in den letzten Jahren einen leichten Aufschwung genommen, man darf gespannt sein, wie es in den nächsten 10-20 Jahren aussieht. Der Gesang - ein leise flötendes „upupup“ - ist wahrscheinlich neben dem markanten Aussehen das beste Merkmal zur Bestimmung.

Zippammer - Emberiza cia

Die Zippammer bewohnt ursprünglich steile, felsige Berghänge mit spärlicher Vegetation. In der Wachau sind die Weingärten mit den zahlreichen Steinmauern der bevorzugte Lebensraum. Immerhin dürfte etwa ein Drittel der Österreichischen Population hier vorkommen. Jahresvogel, der das ganze Jahr über beobachtet werden kann, aber hauptsächlich durch den leisen Gesang auffällt. Größe etwa wie Haussperling. Singt sehr gerne von Warten wie Weingartenstehern, Büschen oder Weingartendrähten.

Zaunammer - Emberiza cirlus

Die Zaunammer ist erst in den letzten Jahren als Brutvogel in der Wachau festgestellt worden und hat in der Zwischenzeit hier ihr größtes Verbreitungsgebiet in ganz Österreich. Sie besiedelt wärmebegünstigte, offene Landschaften, die über genügend Büsche verfügen. Gemeinsam mit der Zippammer ist sie eine lokale Spezialität und kommt hier aktuell mit etwa 30-50 Paaren vor, die Besiedlung ist aber noch nicht abgeschlossen und wird mit Spannung beobachtet.